NBA schedule 2013-14: Detroit Pistons open season with 10 of 17 at home

USA TODAY Sports

The NBA officially released their 2013-14 schedule -- and for the first time in years, the Pistons might actually look competitive early in the season.

The Detroit Pistons will open the 2013-14 season at home against the Washington Wizards on Wednesday, Oct. 30. Following a quick one-trip to Memphis on Nov. 1, the Pistons return to the Palace for four more games against the Celtics (Nov. 3), Pacers (Nov. 5) and Thunder (Nov. 8), giving fans in Detroit ample opportunity to check out the team's revamped roster early in the season.

That stands in stark contrast to last year's unforgiving schedule, in which seven of the Pistons' first nine games were on the road, including six straight out west. If you recall, the Pistons were already six games under .500 before even playing their second home game last year, sapping whatever early-season optimism fans may have deluded themselves into having and setting the tone of another season of empty seats at the Palace. (And let's not even think about the 4-20 start from 2011-12 ...)

With any luck, that won't happen again this season with 10 of the team's first 17 games at home. The Pistons have only two road trips all season longer than three games -- and not one longer than four. And unlike last season when the Pistons were completely ignored by national TV, the team will have two games on ESPN (Nov. 15 in Sacramento, Feb. 5 in Orlando), and two more on NBA TV (Feb. 8 against the Nuggets, March 9 in Boston).

More analysis from the team's official press release:

The club will play 20 sets of back-to-back games this season. Five of its back-to-back sets fall on the road, four begin on the road and conclude at home, eight are home-and-away and three are home-home back-to-backs.

The complete schedule is below:

Date
Opponent Time (ET) National TV
Wed. Oct 30 Washington 7:30 p.m.
Fri. Nov 01 at Memphis 8:00 p.m.
Sun. Nov 03 Boston 6:00 p.m.
Tue. Nov 05 Indiana 7:30 p.m.
Fri. Nov 08 Oklahoma City 7:30 p.m.
Mon. Nov 11 at Portland 10:00 p.m.
Tue. Nov 12 at Golden State 10:30 p.m.
Fri. Nov 15 at Sacramento 10:30 p.m. ESPN
Sun. Nov 17 at L.A. Lakers 9:30 p.m.
Tue. Nov 19 New York 7:30 p.m.
Wed. Nov 20 at Atlanta 7:30 p.m.
Fri. Nov 22 Atlanta 7:30 p.m.
Sun. Nov 24 at Brooklyn 2:00 p.m.
Mon. Nov 25 Milwaukee 7:30 p.m.
Wed. Nov 27 Chicago 7:30 p.m.
Fri. Nov 29 L.A. Lakers 7:30 p.m.
Sun. Dec 01 Philadelphia 3:30 p.m.
Tue. Dec 03 at Miami 7:30 p.m.
Wed. Dec 04 at Milwaukee 8:00 p.m.
Sat. Dec 07 at Chicago 8:00 p.m.
Sun. Dec 08 Miami 6:00 p.m.
Tue. Dec 10 Minnesota 7:30 p.m.
Wed. Dec 11 at New Orleans 8:00 p.m.
Fri. Dec 13 Brooklyn 7:30 p.m.
Sun. Dec 15 Portland 6:00 p.m.
Mon. Dec 16 at Indiana 7:00 p.m.
Wed. Dec 18 at Boston 7:30 p.m.
Fri. Dec 20 Charlotte 7:30 p.m.
Sat. Dec 21 Houston 7:30 p.m.
Mon. Dec 23 at Cleveland 7:00 p.m.
Fri. Dec 27 at Orlando 7:00 p.m.
Sat. Dec 28 at Washington 7:00 p.m.
Mon. Dec 30 Washington 7:30 p.m.
Sun. Jan 05 Memphis 1:00 p.m.
Tue. Jan 07 at New York 7:30 p.m.
Wed. Jan 08 at Toronto 7:00 p.m.
Fri. Jan 10 at Philadelphia 7:00 p.m.
Sat. Jan 11 Phoenix 7:30 p.m.
Fri. Jan 17 Utah 7:30 p.m.
Sat. Jan 18 at Washington 7:00 p.m.
Mon. Jan 20 L.A. Clippers 1:00 p.m.
Wed. Jan 22 at Milwaukee 8:00 p.m.
Fri. Jan 24 New Orleans 7:30 p.m.
Sun. Jan 26 at Dallas 7:30 p.m.
Tue. Jan 28 Orlando 7:30 p.m.
Wed. Jan 29 at Atlanta 7:30 p.m.
Sat. Feb 01 Philadelphia 7:30 p.m.
Mon. Feb 03 at Miami 7:30 p.m.
Wed. Feb 05 at Orlando 8:00 p.m. ESPN
Fri. Feb 07 Brooklyn 7:30 p.m.
Sat. Feb 08 Denver 7:30 p.m. NBATV
Mon. Feb 10 San Antonio 7:30 p.m.
Wed. Feb 12 Cleveland 7:30 p.m.
Tue. Feb 18 Charlotte 7:30 p.m.
Wed. Feb 19 at Charlotte 7:00 p.m.
Fri. Feb 21 Atlanta 7:30 p.m.
Sat. Feb 22 Dallas 7:30 p.m.
Mon. Feb 24 Golden State 7:30 p.m.
Wed. Feb 26 at San Antonio 8:30 p.m.
Sat. Mar 01 at Houston 8:00 p.m.
Mon. Mar 03 New York 7:30 p.m.
Wed. Mar 05 Chicago 7:30 p.m.
Fri. Mar 07 at Minnesota 8:00 p.m.
Sun. Mar 09 at Boston 6:00 p.m. NBATV
Tue. Mar 11 Sacramento 7:30 p.m.
Wed. Mar 12 at Toronto 7:00 p.m.
Sat. Mar 15 Indiana 7:30 p.m.
Wed. Mar 19 at Denver 9:00 p.m.
Fri. Mar 21 at Phoenix 10:00 p.m.
Sat. Mar 22 at L.A. Clippers 10:30 p.m.
Mon. Mar 24 at Utah 9:00 p.m.
Wed. Mar 26 Cleveland 7:30 p.m.
Fri. Mar 28 Miami 7:30 p.m.
Sat. Mar 29 at Philadelphia 7:30 p.m.
Mon. Mar 31 Milwaukee 7:30 p.m.
Wed. Apr 02 at Indiana 7:00 p.m.
Fri. Apr 04 at Brooklyn 7:30 p.m.
Sat. Apr 05 Boston 7:30 p.m.
Wed. Apr 09 at Cleveland 7:00 p.m.
Fri. Apr 11 at Chicago 8:00 p.m.
Sun. Apr 13 Toronto 3:30 p.m.
Wed. Apr 16 at Oklahoma City 8:00 p.m.

Now your thoughts.

X
Log In Sign Up

forgot?
Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

Join Detroit Bad Boys

You must be a member of Detroit Bad Boys to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Detroit Bad Boys. You should read them.

Join Detroit Bad Boys

You must be a member of Detroit Bad Boys to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Detroit Bad Boys. You should read them.

Spinner

Authenticating

Great!

Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.

tracking_pixel_9347_tracker