clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Pistons honor All-Time Team tonight

Ordinarily, a game against the Knicks wouldn't be one to get excited about this late in the season. But if you're a Pistons fan, you owe it to yourself to get in front of a TV at 7pm and tune into TV20 for the unveiling of the All-Time Team. From

Hosted by play-by-play announcer George Blaha, the pregame ceremony will reflect on the careers of the greatest players, coaches and general managers in franchise history from 1957-58 through 2007-08. Members of the selected All-Time Team will be on-hand for the ceremony that will include highlight footage and memories of these special players and great teams. Honorees expected to be in attendance include Dave Bing, Bob Lanier, Isiah Thomas, Joe Dumars, Bill Laimbeer, Dennis Rodman, Vinnie Johnson, former head coach Chuck Daly, the franchise leader in coaching victories, and former general manager Jack McCloskey.

The Free Press has more details:

The team expects 25 of the honorees to be at the Palace. Three of the 32 are deceased: Dave DeBusschere, Jimmy Walker and George Yardley. And four -- Adrian Dantley, Grant Hill, Jerry Stackhouse and Ben Wallace -- are playing or coaching elsewhere.

Pistons president Tom Wilson, who was on the nine-member selection panel, said about 20 of the players had at least seven votes and were shoo-ins. The rest came down to debate.

"When you have 25 or 30 guys, there are always going to be people saying, 'What about so-and-so -- he's my favorite player?' Or 'Why did this guy make it?' " Wilson said. "It's inescapable.... But what we came up with is a good cross section of players from the past and the present."

So basically, it's going to be a who's who of Pistons history tonight, all in the same building for the first time since, well, ever. The ball tips at 8pm, the TV special starts at 7 and the on-court ceremony should kick-off around 7:30. I'll be there for HOOPSWORLD -- you can leave your thoughts on the game, ceremony, who got snubbed from the all-time team and who doesn't belong in the comments.