clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Detroit Pistons release first half of season schedule

New, comments

Pistons open season against the Minnesota Timberwolves on Dec. 23

Minnesota Timberwolves v Detroit Pistons Photo by Gregory Shamus/Getty Images

The Detroit Pistons will kick off the abbreviated 2020-21 season with a road game against the Minnesota Timberwolves on Dec. 23. The Pistons and No. 7 overall pick Killian Hayes will get the first regular-season look at No. 1 overall pick Anthony Edwards. The Pistons will then go home for their first home game against the Cleveland Cavaliers on Dec. 26.

The Pistons released the first half of their full-season schedule Friday afternoon. The games at Little Caesars Arena will not allow fans in attendance until further notice. None of the games scheduled are slated to air on national television, and two will air on NBA TV.

The first half of the schedule consists of 37 of the team’s 72 scheduled games including 17 at home and 20 on the road. Five games will see the Pistons play the same team in consecutive games at the same location with a rest day between games. Only one of those, against the Sixers, will be at Little Caesars Arena. The schedule also consists of 9 sets of back-to-backs.

The schedule makers didn’t do Detroit any favors regarding long homestands. The longest string of games at Little Caesars Arena is one four-game stretch from Jan. 8 to Jan. 15 while they face two five-game road trips.

The second half of the season schedule will be released at a later date.

Detroit Pistons First-Half Schedule 2020-21

Day Date Opponent Time TV
Day Date Opponent Time TV
Wed. Dec. 23 @ Minnesota 8:00 p.m.
Sat. Dec. 26 Cleveland 7:00 p.m.
Mon. Dec. 28 @ Atlanta 7:00 p.m.
Tue. Dec. 29 Golden State 7:00 p.m.
Fri. Jan. 1 Boston 7:00 p.m.
Sun. Jan. 3 Boston 3:00 p.m. NBATV
Mon. Jan. 4 @ Milwaukee 8:00 p.m.
Wed. Jan. 6 @ Milwaukee 8:00 p.m.
Fri. Jan. 8 Phoenix 7:00 p.m.
Sun. Jan. 10 Utah 3:00 p.m. NBATV
Wed. Jan. 13 Milwaukee 7:00 p.m.
Fri. Jan. 15 Washington 7:00 p.m.
Sat. Jan. 16 @ Miami 8:00 p.m.
Mon. Jan. 18 @ Miami 3:00 p.m.
Wed. Jan. 20 @ Atlanta 7:00 p.m.
Fri. Jan. 22 Houston 7:00 p.m.
Sat. Jan. 23 Philadelphia 7:00 p.m.
Mon. Jan. 25 Philadelphia 7:00 p.m.
Wed. Jan. 27 @ Cleveland 7:00 p.m.
Thu. Jan. 28 L.A. Lakers 7:00 p.m.
Sat. Jan. 30 @ Golden State 8:00 p.m.
Mon. Feb. 1 @ Denver 9:00 p.m.
Tue. Feb. 2 @ Utah 9:00 p.m.
Fri. Feb. 5 @ Phoenix 9:00 p.m.
Sat. Feb. 6 @ L.A. Lakers 10:00 p.m.
Tue. Feb. 9 Brooklyn 7:00 p.m.
Thu. Feb. 11 Indiana 7:00 p.m.
Sun. Feb. 14 @ Boston 6:00 p.m.
Tue. Feb. 16 San Antonio 7:00 p.m.
Wed. Feb. 17 @ Dallas 8:00 p.m.
Fri. Feb. 19 @ Memphis 8:00 p.m.
Sun. Feb. 21 @ Orlando 6:00 p.m.
Tue. Feb. 23 @ Orlando 7:00 p.m.
Wed. Feb. 24 @ New Orleans 8:00 p.m.
Fri. Feb. 26 Sacramento 7:00 p.m.
Sun. Feb. 28 New York 6:00 p.m.
Tue. Mar. 2 @ Toronto (in Tampa) 7:00 p.m.